To Mince Wurst with The Manager’s Choice

5 Sep

It wasn’t that I was on vacation that’s why I have not been religiously keen on updating my blog, nor have I forgotten my password again (thank god I still haven’t for how many blogsites have I abandoned already for the ficklemindedness of my password choices that I still curse blogspot for making it so tough for me to re-open my account there.)

Au contraire, I have just been busy, real busy with work for two exhibits.  (do check out one of them, the other just ended.)

But in my very mobile existence of late,  the one solace I can find comfort in is my mojo for cooking up or improving stale delivery food.

I was working with my trusty test partner in a studio betwixt a barbershop and a butcher shop till late night and ordered pizza, and some wine (a little indulgence for all the toil and sweat if you may, but they were just a bottle of ye olde 2008 mild-to-the-point-of-bland Merlot Terra Vega and corkfree South African cabernet sauvignon Two Oceans). It was a Manager’s choice New York Style pizza which immediately turned cardboard blah just after 20 minutes. Test partner said I should’ve just called Yellow Cab, yeah right.But then what are we going to do with this pizza?

I searched the cupboards upstairs – there was a tin of tuna, several packs of uncooked spaghetti and lots of garlic and onions in the fridge, and a few uncooked hotdogs too in the chiller. (sorry D, I raided your ref while you’re gone.)  He suggested to mince the hotdogs really fine, then I sauteed them in butter with lots of onions and minced garlic.

and here is ze result :

Still after this, there were still some pizza left. We thought we’d be too hungry for one family-size pizza.

So in the morning, the two left-over slices became this :

This was inspired by the breakfast pizza I had in Slovenia. I cracked 2 eggs on top of the pizza slices while  it was being heated on a pan.

It was a hearty brunch and I felt so nauseated after. I felt Elvis’s fat ass sitting on my tummy for the whole day.

I’ve had enough pizza for the time being.

The next work week we just subsisted on budget meals from the nearby 24 hours carinderia/carwash called Peach Stop along Major Dizon.Their pancit canton is mighty mighty good – not so much swimming in sauce and MSG but robust with savoriness that you’d definitely reach for a pandesal for each noodley slurp. Their rice topping meals (choice of pork adobo or beef caldereta) are also worth their price at 45 bucks – not scrimping on taste, meat pieces and sauce, an extra order of rice is a must. Or were we just hungry all that time? Their pork sinigang though is rather schizophrenic – in lieu of kangkong, they put in pechay instead and lots of string beans, a little too peppery like bulalo, lacking the sourness of a standard sinigang. Oh well, one can’t be too picky in a carinderia, much less complain to a cook who can drool in your soup.

Leave a comment